Illinois - Indiana - Iowa - Michigan - Minnesota - Missouri - New York - Ohio - Pennsylvania - Wisconsin - Ontario




Recommended Standards                                                                                                                

  (Ten States Standards)                                                                                                                                    

Wastewater                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Water Supply                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Individual Sewage Systems

Swimming Pools

Bathing Beaches

DRAFT-2011 Annual Meeting Minutes

April 25, 2011


Ralph H. Metcalfe Federal Office Building

77 West Jackson Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois



Attendees                                                                                                                                    Phone Attendees

Randy Ellingboe                                                                                                                         Bob Smude

Pat Carroll                                                                                                                                   Brian Noma

Jill Jonas                                                                                                                                      Randy Thorson

Mike Baker                                                                                                                                 Kevin Mcleary

Jerry Kuhn                                                                                                                                  Maher Jaafari

Dave McMillan                                                                                                                          Terry Kirschenman               

Liane Shekter Smith                                                                                                                  Phil Argiroff

Carrie Monosmith                                                                                                                      Roger Sokol                                                                                                                                                                                            Mike Montysko



1:00 pm – Monday, April 25, 2011


1.      The meeting was called to order by Chair Jerry Kuhn at 1:05 p.m.


2.      Introductions


3.      2011 Officers were confirmed as:

a.      Chair – Illinois – Jerry Kuhn

b.      Vice Chair – Indiana – Pat Carroll

c.      Secretary – Iowa – Chuck Corell


4.      Agenda Review and Revision

  • None


5.      Approval of 2010 Minutes

  • Approve Minutes with minor changes as discussed. Motion by P. Carroll, Second by J. Jonas.


6.      Review of Membership List

  • Minnesota will update member list.  Send any changes to Bob Smude.






7.      Committee Reports

a.      Water Supply (Brian Noma)

      • The Water Supply Committee met in St. Louis, MO in October of 2010.
      • They divided up the chapters for review and will be going over them the next 2 years to recommend changes.
      • Most states sent a representative but the Committee feels they really need a representative from Ohio as it has been a number of years since there has been one.
      • Mike Baker, Ohio, is not able to hire for the position that had traditionally represented Ohio on the committee.  Mike will continue to ask current staff to see if he can get someone to participate.  He will let Brian know within a month if he has found anyone.  Ohio will have to defer holding the meeting this fall.
      • Minnesota will hold the annual meeting this fall.  It will be a 2 ½ day meeting in mid-October.  Brian will start making arrangements.
      • Roy Ney has retired and Jennifer Bunton will be replacing him as a member of the committee.
      • Mike Montysko, New York, mentioned he is working on the UV information update and knows he has to get it out to the group soon for review.  UV will still be a Policy Statement.
      • Jill Jonas thanked Brian for the work he has done.
      • Jerry Kuhn mentioned that Brian has done a great job during his first year as Committee Chair.


b.      Wastewater (Terry Kirschenman)

      • The Wastewater Committee is meeting via conference call each month with a goal to have recommended changes to the standards drafted by September, 2011 and ready to publish in 2012.
      • Conference calls have worked relatively well to discuss revisions.  It is believed that a face-to-face meeting will be needed to finalize the drafts before the 2012 Board meeting.
      • The Committee is working to get a Land Application section drafted.  Current standards to not have a section for Land Application and feel it is needed.  Minnesota and Michigan representatives are working on drafting language.  They are reviewing the Illinois language to see the differences between more northern and southern states in the region.  They agree that it will need to be very generic.
      • There are new assignments for committee members to investigate standards for low-flow design, alternative technologies for small systems, recirculation, and nutrient removal.
      • Alternative technologies and designs for systems with populations between 100 – 200 don’t work well for systems with less than 100 population.
      • Three people retired and will be receiving certificates of appreciation; Dave Porter, MI; D.S. Patel, IN; and Parimal Parikh, PA.


c.      Individual Sewage Systems

      • Bob Smude spoke with Chad Moorman.  The ISS Committee had not met and had nothing to report.  Chad does not think the committee will actively change the standards but may meet via conference call in the future to discuss new technology, etc.


d.      Swimming Pools and Bathing Beaches

      • Bob Smude communicated with a few members on the current list.  They feel that states are going toward national standards but that the 10 State information is still valuable.  They would like to continue to discuss industry information but would not be able to meet in person.  Bob Smude may work with the Minnesota representative to organize a conference call among members that are still current.


Motion to accept the Committee reports made by R. Ellingboe, seconded by M. Baker.




8.      Other Business

  • As discussed at the last meeting the money from the Boards treasury was donated to Water for People.


9.      Officers for 2012

a.      Chair – Indiana – Pat Carroll

b.      Vice Chair – Iowa – Chuck Corell

c.      Secretary-  Michigan – Liane Shekter Smith


Motion to approve officers made by M. Baker, seconded by J. Jonas.


10.   Certificates of Appreciation

  • The list for 2010 looked accurate and there are no known certificates needed at this time.  Bob Smude will send the printed certificates to Chair Kuhn for signature.


11.   Other Issues

  • None


12.   Date and Location for 2012 Meeting will probably be April 22 but will know more after talking to R5 EPA.


Motion to adjourn made by P. Carroll, seconded by L. Shekter Smith.